2023 CPMEC WA Award Winners

From a competitive field, PMCWA is delighted to announce the WA winners for the 2023 Clinical Educator and Junior Doctor of the year awards – Dr Tim Bates (Clinical Educator award winner, St John of God Midland Hospital) and Dr Kai Choong (Junior Doctor award winner, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital).

CPMEC Awards

Each year the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) recognises both junior doctors and clinical educators across Australia and New Zealand who have made valuable contributions to prevocational medical education and training through two Awards:

Nominees are selected by peers or supervisors, and PMCWA selects the Western Australian (WA) winners based upon the nomination details provided. All state nominees are forwarded by PMCWA to CPMEC and the overall national winner of each category is announced at the annual Prevocational Medical Education Forum in November.


2023 WA Clinical Educator of the Year - Dr Tim Bates


2023 WA Junior Doctor of the Year - Dr Kai Choong

Previous JMO and Clinical Educator WA Winners
Year Junior Doctor of the Year Clinical Educator of the Year
2022 Dr Fiona Spencer Dr Matthew Chau
2021 Dr Brittney Wicksteed Dr Zarrin Allam
2020 Dr Anita Smith Dr Greg Sweetman
2019 Dr Sherman Kwan Dr David Forster
2018 Dr Jasmin Korbl Dr Lucy Kilshaw
2017 Dr Kiran Narula Dr James Marangou
2016 Dr Justin Bui Dr Monica Gope
2015 Dr Nicholas Gilbert Dr Richard Arenson
2014 Dr Trent Little Dr John Ward
2013 Dr Chris Wilson Ms Fran Gratwick
2012 Dr Courtney Majda Dr Mo Ballal 
2011 Dr Kelly McNamara Dr David Oldham
2010 Dr Emma Allanson Dr Richard Tarala
2009 Dr Caroline Rhodes  


For details on the CPMEC awards